Three Random Thoughts – All Superman Edition

Some many items of Superman interest in my mind lately, so here they are.


1.  I was an avid reader of the Superman comics for years and years in the late 80’s and early 90’s, but unfortunately my collection trailed off after The Death Of Superman storyline .  Spoiler: he got better.  Over the past couple of years I have been amassing the missing issues in bits and pieces, but I have read none of them.  Sad face.  To make my problem worse, one of my favourite podcasts From Crisis To Crisis has been doing an excellent job providing comprehensive coverage of these comics.  And they are about to start analyzing this story.  And I have not caught up with my backlog.  Very soon, they will be in uncharted territory for me.  Yes, I can hear the violins playing in sympathy, but the anal-retentive part of me will be gritting my teeth as I hear spoilers for almost 20 year old comics.  Sigh.


2.  I regularly started reading the Superman comics again after the Infinite Crisis event a few years ago, but halted again when the New Krypton storyline began.  All those comics are in my possession, an entire year and half long story, but they languish in my basement.  And I am not alone with this.  I firmly believe DC Comics had extremely high hopes for this endeavour, but it did not return the critical acclaim or sales they had hoped for.  And because of this failure, all the immense changes done to the character and his mythos with The New 52 relaunch were required.  Personally, I fervently wish they had not gone this route, since the current version was still one I mostly loved, but the comics are still on my pull list.  Superman is still number one in my heart.


3.  And with this The New 52 relaunch, The Superman Marriage is gone.  It never happened.  Lois is dating someone else and Clark is a lonely man, all sulky and emo.  And with this change, comes a heavy decision for me.  I created a facebook page to protest the change and try to save their true love, but it never really caught on.  So, the question to the assembled internet is, should I dissolve the page and let it become just a memory, or just let it go and wait for facebook to archive it?  Any input would be greatly appreciated.  Maybe someday they will get married again.

Superman thoughts now all poured out.  Now, off I go to my Fortress of Solitude, and maybe get caught up with good old Clark Kent and Lois Lane.

Scoopriches
P.S.  Superman is copyright 2011 to DC Entertainment.  Superman created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster.

About scoopsmentalpropaganda

Married to beautiful wife. Always learning a ton of stuff. Geek with too much useless knowledge. fb page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Scoops-Mental-Propaganda/192314550819647 twitter & twitpic: Scoopriches AboutMe Page: http://about.me/paulriches This site is an @Scoopriches production
This entry was posted in Geek, Me!, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

