Christmas Book Blogger Exchange!!

In the spirit of the Christmas Season, book blogger extraordinaire Gwenythlove organized a holiday exchange for those online lovers of the written word.  I was extremely happy to participate and was matched up with Sarah, who then proceeded to blow me away in getting everything done for this venture.  My hat is off to you Sarah!  Now that Sarah and I have traded our books, it is time to now present phase two.  Sarah has the honour of being my first guest poster on SMP.  You can read more of Sarah’s reviews and views by checking out her most excellent blog at:  www.workadayreads.com/

So, without further meanderings from moi, here’s Sarah!

As my part of the “get-to-know-you” portion of the Winter Holiday Book Blogger Exchange, I’m going to talk about my favourite books from various stages in my life so far.

Kid:

As a kid I loved reading everything. My niece just recently brought home a book from school that I loved as a kid: Jillian Jiggs by Phoebe Gilman.

“Jillian, Jillian, Jillian Jiggs! It looks like your room has been lived in by pigs!”

Oh, the adventures of Jillian Jiggs and her messy room. So fun to read, with pictures that tell their own stories.

 I also loved Robert Munsch books. Mortimer being one of my favourites. There is something about stories about kids who drive their parents crazy. It’s like a victory for kids everywhere.

One of the great things about kids books is the timeless-ness of them. Both of these books are still popular with kids today.

Teen:

As a teenager I read books that were way above my age level. I was an avid reader, taking home stacks of books at a time. I found that most YA books available at that time were just not long enough to satisfy me. As much, I didn’t read much YA. Instead, my two favourite books were massive clunkers with adult appeal.


The Stand by Stephen King was my favourite of his books. I read them all, but this was the book that started my love affair with dystopian and apocalyptic stories. It had a touch of horror, but not like his other books, and was such a compelling story that I couldn’t put it down until I finished.

The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley started my love affair with fantasy and mythology stories. The idea of taking a well known story (King Arthur) and telling it from a very different viewpoint really captured my attention. This is one of the view books I have read multiple times. I would really love to get an ebook copy so I can read it again, this time without breaking my wrists.

Early 20s:

My early 20s was the time I read the least. That isn’t saying I didn’t read anything, because I still flew through books, but there are few books that really stand out from this time. I read mostly trashy romance books, and those don’t really make an impression. There are two series though that I read and that have really stuck with me.


On a Pale Horse is the first in The Incantations of Immortality series by Piers Anthony. This is my all time favourite series. It is a science fiction / fantasy series that is so imaginative. I push this series on everyone.

Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey is the first book in the first trilogy of the Kushiel Legacy series. It’s a dark fantasy story that makes Harlequin romance look tame. The ninth and final book in the series was just released this year, but it is the first trilogy in the series that stands out to me. There is something about Phedre’s character with her contradictions of strength and subservience that grabs your attention and holds tight.

Late 20s,

Arriving at my current stage in life, there are so many more books to talk about and choose from in the last few years. It seems like almost every book I pick up is my new favourite. As such, I really don’t think I can pick just two. I currently read so much, with both YA and adult books from all genres making appearances. There are two new features in books that stand out though: ebooks and self-published books. These are both recent trends in the book world, and I have embraced them both. These are both important changes in the way I read books, and I can’t wait to see how they further affect my reading as I head into my 30s next year.

SarahThere you have it. My two favourite books from the various stages of my life so far. I hope this brief glimpse into my reading history has given you some insight into me. I want to thank both Paul for hosting me today, and Gwenyth for hosting the Winter Holiday Book Blogger Exchange. This has been great fun!

About scoopsmentalpropaganda

Married to beautiful wife. Always learning a ton of stuff. Geek with too much useless knowledge. fb page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Scoops-Mental-Propaganda/192314550819647 twitter & twitpic: Scoopriches AboutMe Page: http://about.me/paulriches This site is an @Scoopriches production
This entry was posted in Books, Christmas, Guest!! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

