Next Week Is The Hunger Games Movie. And The World Will Never Be The Same.


I blame my wife.

My obsession with The Hunger Games.  My fervent counting down to the movie.  And my over the top headline above.  All this is her fault.

Waaay back, almost a year ago when I first began proselytizing here at Scoops Mental Propaganda, I decided from the onset to do at least one book review a month.  This has actually resulted in fourteen book reviews, so I am slightly ahead of the game.  Anyway, she noticed that all the books I was rambling and going on about were written years or even decades ago.  This situation must be rectified, I had to enter the 21st century kicking and screaming, and review a book made in the here and now.

Having heard mention of The Hunger Games, written by Suzanne Collins,  once or twice as a book of note, she quickly selected it for me.  And I set about my task with only the vaguest idea of what to expect.

And That Was The Start.  A tidal wave of excitement and frenzied reading followed.  I lived almost every moment to plunge myself back into  the world of Katniss.  Staying up way past my bedtime, rapidly devouring pages while on lunch breaks, and fervently racing to finish all three books.  Along the way, I babbled almost incoherently about the story, the characters, and the twists and turns to my wife.  She has now stated multiple times her wish to turn back time and stop me from reading The Hunger Games.  And she is only half kidding!

Along the way, I started pumping out endless commentary onto twitter and facebook about my experiences reading this modern classic.  At first, some people were resistant to my endless onslaught, but over time more and more people became converted to the cause.  This became one of my happier crusades.  My Hunger Games review skyrocketed up the hits on my blog, and it is still one of my most sought after pages.

Now with the countdown to the movie ticking away, keeping myself in check is getting harder and harder.  Friday March 23rd still seems something in the vast far future, but soon, very soon, it will be here.  WHEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sorry, just had to let that out.  Anticipation of what is coming, of what will happen, and what the end result will be, are massive.  Will the movie get it right?  Little secrets have already been announced, changes which some fans (like myself) can understand, but others have expressed dismay at.  We all worry the public won’t “get” the meaning and essence of The Hunger Games, or that the movie will alter the intent of the story for some nefarious reason.  Advance previews have been generous with praise, which brings warmth to our worrisome hearts.  Hope is what we live on for this movie.  Hope everyone will see what we see.

Hope that The Hunger Games, which shows us future horrors that are allegories to issues of today, will strike a chord with people everywhere.

Hope we can learn how to be better.  Like Katniss shows us.

Scoopriches

P.S.  I still blame my wife.

P.P.S.  To got to the Number 1 Hunger Games Site on the internet, click here.

P.P.P.S.  To read my reviews of the various Hunger Games Podcasts, click here.

For your edification, I have included all the various tweets generated by me during my journey with Katniss.  Enjoy!
The Hunger Games Tweets:

September 28th, 2011
I am up to my nose in crap I have to do on the computer, but what I really want to do is continue reading Hunger Games.

September 29th, 2011
Dear Hunger Games: You are driving me insane. I hate you. And now I hate walls of fire. #Aaaaarg!!! Yours Sincerely, Paul

September 30th, 2011
Dear Hunger Games: I hate wasps. Because of you, I REALLY hate wasps!! You are making me crazy!

September 30th, 2011
Dear Hunger Games: Please don’t let the movie muck up Rue’s song. If they do, I will go Kat on them!! #notcrying

September 30th, 2011
Dear Hunger Games: I want to read you now, but I have to go to work. I will get back to you soon. Please don’t put me in the Arena!

October 1st, 2011
Dear Hunger Games: The syrup? THE SYRUP??? THAT was a betrayal!!! #peetaisgonnabepissed #willstartscreamingsoon

October 1st, 2011
Dear Hunger Games: I hate Claudius. I hope Kat shoots him with an arrow. And another arrow. And another arrow. And another arrow.

October 1st, 2011
Dear Hunger Games: I hate Claudius. I hope Kat shoots him with an arrow. And another arrow. And another arrow. And another arrow.

October 2nd, 2011
Dear Hunger Games: You still haunt me. Still thinking quite a bit about you and what you represent. And I am now scared of berries.

The Catching Fire Tweets:

October 7th, 2011
Dear Catching Fire: You are my #fridayreads. I hope to get you finished this weekend and that you are as good as the first one!

October 10th, 2011
Dear Catching Fire: People keep telling me you are not as good as The Hunger Games. I completely disagree. You are just as wicked!

October 10th, 2011
Dear Catching Fire: Can I give President Snow some berries? He really deserves it. Maybe served with an arrow?

October 10th, 2011
Dear Catching Fire: Repeat after me: I want a Mockingjay as a pet. I want a Mockingjay as a pet. Sing tothetune of Firework byKatyPerry.

October 10th, 2011
Dear Catching Fire: Ohh Ohh, halfway way their, Ohh Ohh, Living On A Prayer!

October 11th, 2011
Dear Catching Fire: I can’t swim. I can barely float. Glub Glub.

October 12th, 2011
Dear Catching Fire: Holy $#^@!?*&!!!!!!!!!!! I mean, really Holy $3#!*&%#!!!!!!! Kat’s got a bow and arrow and I am in hiding!

The Mockingjay Tweets:

October 14th, 2011
My #fridayreads is Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins!!! Must. Finish. Trilogy.

October 17th, 2011
Dear Mockingjay: “Visit scenic District 13! We have delicious food, a leisurely lifestyle, and an understanding government! Come on by!”

October 17th, 2011
Dear Mockingjay: “Hi, I’m Kat and I want you to join the revolution! Come on by District 13, just don’t forget your explosive arrows!”

October 19th, 2011
Dear Mockingjay: If President Snow offers you couple counselling, Do Not Take It!!!

October 20th, 2011
Dear Mockingjay: I would like to quote Admiral Ackbar from Star Wars: “It’s A Trap!”

October 20th, 2011
Dear Mockingjay: I am never going into the sewer again thanks to you. Not that I have ever been in the sewer before, but still.

October 20th, 2011
Dear Mockingjay: Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Wow Epic Ending. Real.

The Aftermath Tweets:

October 20th, 2011
#ff @Alex_Finn Cool dude who told me to read The Hunger Games Trilogy. Thanks Man!! P.S. Don’t eat the berries!!

October 29th, 2011
http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=83630

October 29th, 2011
Rue’s lullaby
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCmoAuZgsnE

October 29th, 2011
#DearTrickorTreaters: I wanted to go as Kat from #TheHungerGames this #Halloween, but wife said if I did, she would make me eat the berries.

November 13th, 2011
#HungerGamesTrailer is soon! #HungerGamesTrailer is soon!! #HungerGamesTrailer is soon!!! #HungerGamesTrailer is soon!!!!

November 13th, 2011
I just found out that the director of one of favmovies (Pleasantville) is alsodoing Hunger Games!! #Gary RossRules!! #HungerGamesTrailer

November 13th, 2011
Countdown to #HungerGamesTrailer !! If they include any part of Rue’s Lullaby, I will be blubbering like a baby!!

November 13th, 2011
Countdown to #HungerGamesTrailer !! Hope they show clips of Lenny Kravitz as Cinna!! Inspired casting!!

November 13th, 2011
Countdown to #HungerGamesTrailer Kat had better be wielding a bow and arrow!!

November 13th, 2011
Countdown to #HungerGamesTrailer Will they show Tracker Jackers???? #theyscareme

November 13th, 2011
Countdown to #HungerGamesTrailer Listening to a ton of Hunger Games podcasts!! Gotta get pumped!!!

November 13th, 2011
Countdown to #HungerGamesTrailer Next stop, the action figures!! I want Katniss, Peeta, and someone with an arrow sticking out of them.

November 13th, 2011
Countdown to #HungerGamesTrailer Eight Hours To Go!! Eight Hours To Go!! Eight Hours To Go!! Eight Hours To Go!!

November 13th, 2011
Finally saw #HungerGamesTrailer #YEHAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! #AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

November 13th, 2011
Why, yes, I am obsessing over #HungerGamesTrailer and #thehungergames today, why do you ask?

November 14th, 2011
Everytime I watch #HungerGamesTrailer I get goosebumps!!!

November 15th, 2011
Quick Poll: How many times have you seen #HungerGamesTrailer ? I have lost count. Still freaks me out.

November 16th, 2011
First #HungerGamesTrailer , now #brave trailer from Pixar. How much better can this week get? #awesome

December 27th, 2011
Got Hunger Games Box Set, DrWho TVmovie, Lost Horizon movie (all from Mare), Comp Flash TVseries frombrothers, and socks from mum in law

February 28th, 2012
Current issue of #MadMagazine has a parody of #TheHungerGames inside. @RRpodcast @NightlockPod @HungerGamesDWTC @HGFiresideChat #fb

About scoopsmentalpropaganda

Married to beautiful wife. Always learning a ton of stuff. Geek with too much useless knowledge. fb page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Scoops-Mental-Propaganda/192314550819647 twitter & twitpic: Scoopriches AboutMe Page: http://about.me/paulriches This site is an @Scoopriches production
This entry was posted in Books, Geek, Me!, Movies, Social Media, The Hunger Games! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Next Week Is The Hunger Games Movie. And The World Will Never Be The Same.

  1. thewildbrain says:

    YEs indeed the world will change!
    Hunger gAMES FTW!
    nice blog btw!

  2. mn84evr says:

    STOP THE INSANITY!!! I really hope that you aren’t disappointed when the movie comes out.

Leave a Reply

