Three Random Thoughts On AnimeNorth 2012


Last year was my first adventure into a world I had barely scratched the surface of.  A world of fascinating and amazing greatness with the most dedicated die-hard fans.  A world which tired my old man body out.  But man, was the trip ever Legen (wait for it…) dary!!!

I am of course referring to the annual AnimeNorth convention in Toronto.  Devotees of the art form anime and manga congregate here and have the party to end all parties.

What I Did
Showed up, travelled through the dealers room, crossed the street with hordes of young people in cosplay, witnessed the costume ball, wandered the parking lot taking pictures of every Dr Who in my view, and leaving by 10pm because of near complete exhaustion.  Oh, and I took in a retrospective of Starblazers.

What I Tweeted
AnimeNorth 2011 was the first major event that I ever tweeted from.  Pictures upon pictures filled my feed.  A collection of my coverage is available in a photo album here.  If you went last year, you might be there.  And you can follow my missives and pics at this year’s AnimeNorth 2012 on my twitter here.

What I Saw
I am a complete neophyte to virtually all modern anime.  In my far flung youth Battle Of The Planets, Starblazers, and Macross were all the rage.  In my mature years Akira, Castle In The Sky, and Spirited Away entered my life.  In my future Howl’s Moving Castle, Avatar, and Sakura Wars awaits.  Yes, I have quite a ways to catch up!

AnimeNorth 2012 is being held at the Toronto Congress Centre from Friday May 25th to Sunday May 27th.  It is heavily advisable to pre-buy your tickets through their website.  Please come, it will be blast.

Scoopriches

About scoopsmentalpropaganda

Married to beautiful wife. Always learning a ton of stuff. Geek with too much useless knowledge. fb page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Scoops-Mental-Propaganda/192314550819647 twitter & twitpic: Scoopriches AboutMe Page: http://about.me/paulriches This site is an @Scoopriches production
This entry was posted in Books, Geek, Movies, Social Media, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

