Para-Not-Normal?

Guest Post by the Wonderful @Tessathebox

Do you believe in ghosts? The afterlife? The supernatural? Do you lie awake at night pondering what may be lurking in the dark corners of the room? Either way, you’re not alone. Studies show that 47% of Canadians admit to believing in ghosts. Through this post I will be telling you of one location very close to me, that is said to be haunted.

Somewhere up in Muskoka, there is a 114 year old resort that consists of many different types of accommodations, including, the inn. (This is the part where you start getting goosebumps…) There are two floors with rooms on them. The higher you go the creepier it gets. Up on the second floor are two rooms NOT used for accommodations, these rooms, used to be for taking care of the infants so that the guests cold enjoy the resort knowing that their children were taken care of, but they’re empty now, with no known purpose. There is nothing too remarkable about one room, just an east facing window, a closet, wash room, and a picture of one of the female founders of the resort, after whom the room was named. Well, she passed away. When I went “ghost hunting” with my father and a friend, we felt something “off” as soon as we entered the room. In the photo, her eyes seemed alive and followed you around the room. I don’t know if this is “normal” in such situations, but I also felt as though my head were being squeezed. You know that feeling when you’re at the bottom of a really deep swimming pool?

We left the room soon after and headed up to the third and final floor… My initial reaction to the third floor was, “Where are all the rooms?” They were there, when you turned to the right hidden away behind a wall, was the narrowest freaking hallway I’ve ever seen! Apparently the third floor was haunted by two ghosts. An old man in the hallway, and a little girl in the vacant room 17. People rarely stayed in room 17 and nobody had so far that season, as a result, room service only went up once a week, but the night manager checked the rooms every night. We were assured that the room was locked, we were even given a key for our little “investigation.” We were so surprised to find the door wide open! None of us being brave enough to go in, I ventured out to the second stairwell with my friend, down the hall towards room 17, when we heard a hair-raising, bone-chilling scream. We ran back to make sure my father was ok, we met him halfway down the hall, he was running the other direction to check on us. We left immediately, leaving the door ajar.

After dinner, since you know, us teenagers are all idiots, a group of us ran back up to the third floor. I was eager to show them room 17, but when we got there, the door was closed and locked. My friend, clearly unimpressed, called out to the ghost he didn’t believe was there. I swear the door knob rattled! We ran! I asked the manager about the door, he told me nobody had been up to the third floor since we left, the stairwell had been locked until we asked to go up. There was nobody to lock the door.

Well, that’s my most recent ghost story. Don’t believe me? That’s fine. Have a story of your own? Tweet me, I’d love to hear it. Have I altered your perspective of death and creepy hotels today? Have I set you up for weeks of nightmares? Have I opened your eyes to the possibility of ghosts lurking in the darkest corners? Have I made that sound as poetic as I wanted it to?

Sweet Dreams.

Tess

(The World’s Biggest Harry Potter Fan, And She Likes Ghosts As Well)

TessaTess is a young lady who reads and reads and reads.  And then she talks and talks and talks about what she has read.  She can be reached on twitter @Tessathebox.  By the way, she LOVES Harry Potter.  And Ghosts.

P.S.  To read Tess’s first post click here.

 

 

About scoopsmentalpropaganda

Married to beautiful wife. Always learning a ton of stuff. Geek with too much useless knowledge. fb page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Scoops-Mental-Propaganda/192314550819647 twitter & twitpic: Scoopriches AboutMe Page: http://about.me/paulriches This site is an @Scoopriches production
This entry was posted in Guest!!, History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Para-Not-Normal?

  1. Love this!!! I’m a HUGE fan of ghost stories and all those paranormal shows (like Ghost Hunters, Fact or Faked, etc..) Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

