The Oscars 2013 And My Completely Uneducated Guesses!!

JENNIFER LAWRENCE and BRADLEY COOPER star in SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK

Next weekend is the one millionth annual Academy Awards and as usual my experience with these movies range from zilch to zero.  But not letting that stop me, here is my wildly crazy predictions of who and what will win.  So without further ado…

Best Picture:

Amour

Argo

Beasts Of The Southern Wild

Django Unchained

Les Miserables

Lincoln

Life Of Pi

Silver Linings Playbook

Zero Dark Thirty

My 2 Cents:  Haven’t seen a single one of them.  And I have no love or hate for any of them, but might as well throw my hat in for Lincoln.  Big historical epics always sound like fun.

Best Director:

Michael Haneke – Amour

Ang Lee – Life of Pi

David O Russell – Silver Linings Playbook

Steven Spielberg – Lincoln

Benh Zeitlin – Beasts of the Southern Wild

My 2 Cents:  Seen not a whit of any of these.  But fully believe that Russel was robbed last century for not winning for Three Kings.  Time to rectify that mistake!

Best Actor:

Daniel Day Lewis – Lincoln

Bradley Cooper – Silver Linings Playbook

Hugh Jackman – Les Miserables

Joaquin Phoenix – The Master

Denzel Washington – Flight

My 2 Cents:  None of these have been seen, yet again, by me.  Even with this in mind, I am really pulling for Wolverine, the incredible Mr Hugh Jackman, to take this puppy home.   Anything else would amount to a cosmic injustice.

Best Actress:

Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty

Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook

Emmanuelle Riva – Amour

Quvenzhane Wallis – Beasts of the Southern Wild

Naomi Watts – The Impossible

My 2 Cents:  Actresses I know nothing about for $200 Alex!  Actually I do know Jennifer “The Hunger Games” Lawrence, so she gets my vote because of Hunger Games Rules!

Best Supporting Actor:

Alan Arkin – Argo

Robert De Niro – Silver Linings Playbook

Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln

Christoph Waltz – Django Unchained

Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master

My 2 Cents:  Tommy Lee Jones has to win this one, just to see some kind of reaction from him.  Have Will Smith hand him the statue and that would be awesomesauce.

Best Supporting Actress:

Amy Adams – The Master

Sally Field – Lincoln

Anne Hathaway – Les Miserables

Helen Hunt – The Sessions

Jacki Weaver – Silver Linings Playbook

My 2 Cents:  Googliebear is hoping for Helen Hunt because of the Mad About You connection, but I am torn between Amy Adams and Anne Hathaway.  Can we split this award between the two?

Best Original Screenplay:

Amour – Michael Haneke

Django Unchained – Quentin Tarantino

Flight – John Gatins

Moonrise Kingdom – Wes Anderson,  Roman Coppola

Zero Dark Thirty – Mark Boal

My 2 Cents:  Most people would just hand it to Tarantino, whom even at his worst is better then most in the field.  I tend to see everything Tarantino does, so my vote goes to him.

Best Adapted Screenplay:

Argo – Chris Terrio

Beasts Of The Southern Wild – Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin

Life Of Pi – David Magee

Lincoln – Tony Kushner

Silver Linings Playbook – David O Russell

My 2 Cents:  As mentioned earlier, David Russel was robbed for Three Kings.  Even over a decade later, this omission bugs me.  Just give the guy an Award to make up for it.

Best Animated Feature:

Brave

Frankenweenie

Paranorman

Pirates! Band of Misfits

Wreck-it Ralph

My 2 Cents:  Brave!  Brave!!  Brave!!!  Brave!!!!  Brave!!!!!  Brave!!!!!!  Brave!!!!!!!  Brave!!!!!!!!  Brave!!!!!!!!!  Brave!!!!!!!!!!  Brave!!!!!!!!!!!  Brave!!!!!!!!!!!!  Brave!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Best Song

Before My Time (Chasing Ice) – Music and Lyric by J. Ralph

Everybody Needs A Best Friend (Ted) – Music by Walter Murphy, Lyric by Seth MacFarlane

Pi’s lullaby (Life Of Pi) – Music by Mychael Danna, Lyric by Bombay Jayashri

Skyfall (Skyfall) – Music and Lyric by Adele Adkins, Paul Epworth

Suddenly (Les Miserables) – Music by Claude-Michel Schonberg, Lyric by Herbert Kretzmer, Alain Boublil

My 2 Cents:  Just gotta throw this to the Bond song.  I remember the classic Bond songs of the past.  This the closest we have gotten to that in a looong time.

The only real movie excluded that should have been nominated is The Avengers.  The Academy really has to wake up and smell the coffee and look at excellent movies even beyond their usual purview.

On Sunday February 24th, 2013, we shall see how right, but most likely wrong I am.  Bets will be placed and honour on the line.  I am so screwed.

Scoopriches

…is currently reading How To Talk Dirty And Influence People by Lenny Bruce.

About scoopsmentalpropaganda

Married to beautiful wife. Always learning a ton of stuff. Geek with too much useless knowledge. fb page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Scoops-Mental-Propaganda/192314550819647 twitter & twitpic: Scoopriches AboutMe Page: http://about.me/paulriches This site is an @Scoopriches production
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

