My Year Of Books – So Far

As I mentioned waaay back when I talked about the 50 Book Pledge, I have literally a gazillon book.  And have for quite some time.  Okay, in some cases, decades.

So one of my promises to myself this year, I do not like to call them “New Years Resolutions,” since it seems to foredoom them to failure, was to finally break the back of these 150 untouched books.

My Superman project will thankfully take up a chunk of these books.  Various others that I have wanted to read for years finally made it to my bedside.

Three sections were quarantined right off the bat.

I have quite a few Dr Phil books, accumulated back in the days when her was good and relevant, and can wait on those for awhile longer.  I also have a partial shelf filled with all the Lord of the Rings and it’s presqueals and sequeals and sideways books.  Reading these have already been pushed back for some future year down the line.  The final area off limits for now is the Star Trek novels.  When I was a Young Jedi, Star Trek books became an obscene fascination of mine, with tons read but pretty much hundreds left untouched.  A purge a decade ago got rid of lots of them, but I still have many unread ones still living on my shelves.  But again, these can wait for a stardate or two for me to get back to.

With these parameters in place, I started.  Here are what has been completed so far:

Brightest Day by Geoff Johns and Peter Tomasi

Justice League: Generation Lost by Judd Winick

Superman New Krypton by Various

Legion of Super Heroes by Paul Levitz

A Man For All Seasons by Robert Bolt

Father Goose by William Lishman

How to Talk Dirty and Influence People by Lenny Bruce

The Nobody by Jeff Lemire *

The Underwater Welder by Jeff Lemire *

Omega Men by Various

Gladiator by Philip Wylie

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

Jinx 2 by J Torres and Rick Burchett

Smile by Raina Telgemeier

Drama by Raina Telgemeier

Year One by Ramsey Beyer

Marble Season by Gilbert Hernandez

Superman Doomsday by Louise Simonson

Once Every Never by Lesley Livingston

Every Never After by Lesley Livingston

It’s Superman by Tom De Haven

Superman Whatever Happened To The Man Of Tomorrow by Alan Moore and Curt Swan ***

Superman The Wedding Album by Various ***

The Joy of Writing by Pierre Berton

Are you there God?  It’s me Margaret by Judy Blume *

Your Are My Only Sunshine by yourlilRIOT7 **

Superman Archives Volume 1 by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster

Superman Archives Volume 2 by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster

Superman The Dailies 1939-1942 by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster

Superman The Sunday Classics 1939-1943 by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster

Our Town by Thornton Wilder

In Other Worlds by Margaret Atwood

* denotes library  book

** denotes online read

*** denotes reread

I struggled with including a list of DNF books, but will not do so.  In my younger days, I was loathe to ever chuck something, no matter how awful.  Looking back, my recall is of only three books getting this treatment.  I am sure there are more, but it is rare my backbone straightens enough for this to happen.  This year so far, two books have got the boot after thirty pages with no regrets on my part.

Thankfully everything else listed here has been great, as evidenced by my reviews.  Competition for best of the year is evenly split between The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, and Are you there God?  It’s me Margaret.

More will be added to the list in the coming months, and I am interested to see if another favourite pops in.

That is one of the reasons this catching up is so much fun.

Scoopriches

…is currently reading Enemies and Allies by Kevin J. Anderson.

About scoopsmentalpropaganda

Married to beautiful wife. Always learning a ton of stuff. Geek with too much useless knowledge. fb page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Scoops-Mental-Propaganda/192314550819647 twitter & twitpic: Scoopriches AboutMe Page: http://about.me/paulriches This site is an @Scoopriches production
This entry was posted in Books, Geek, Me!, Superman! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

