My Year Of Books – The Complete, Updated, and Fun 2013 List

Drama book love

Some months back I babbled on abit about how I have a million books.  And I went on for another bit about how I really had to get through all of them, but how some could wait for awhile.  A long while, in fact.

Sigh.

It’s been a long reading year.  Fun, entertaining, informative, and long.

While my goal was to get through as many as possible from my bookshelves, acquire less, and borrow from the library less.  Love the library, but my unread volumes beckoned.

This didn’t quite work.  Still bought some.  Still used my library card.  And I still reached a high of 43 books.  Haven’t done that well in quite along time.

So yet again, just like in 2013, I plan in 2014 is to try to gobble down more of the unread on my shelves.  Halt the shopping and halt the library.

But…

The library thing is already broken, dead and buried.  All because of Fables.

When the finale to the long running Vertigo comic series was announced back in November, I thought about getting the trades from the aforementioned library.  And when 2014 started, I decided to try to outrace the ending and see if I could get through all seventeen or so trades in the next year.  Wish me luck, I shalt need it.

And as for not buying more books…

Last year I got a Kindle, all nice and shiny and new.  And as of this date, almost completely unused.  Wishing to rectify this, and figuring joining yet another new fandom in 2014 (see: Buffy, see: Fables, see: my Geek head exploding) would be oh so fun, I started seriously considering getting Divergent on the Kindle.  Still have not made up my mind, and I know time is a ticking with the movie coming up soon, so my twitchy finger might have to hit download any day now.

Even with these compromises and conundrums happening all around me, I finished my first book of 2014.  The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum has been magically entered into my brain.  Yay!  Only have had that one for about five years or so.

So, My Have Read List 2014 Is:

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

And now, just for the fun of it, here is the complete and updated list of everything I have read in the year that was, 2013.  (And for added fun, I listed after each book approx how long it has been in my possession)

Brightest Day by Geoff Johns and Peter Tomasi, 2 years

Justice League: Generation Lost by Judd Winick, 2 years

Superman New Krypton by Various, 2 years

Legion of Super Heroes by Paul Levitz, 2 years

A Man For All Seasons by Robert Bolt, 20 years

Father Goose by William Lishman, 6 years

How to Talk Dirty and Influence People by Lenny Bruce, 20 years

The Nobody by Jeff Lemire *

The Underwater Welder by Jeff Lemire *

Omega Men by Various, 26 years

Gladiator by Philip Wylie, 5 years

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon, 5 years

Jinx 2 by J Torres and Rick Burchett, NEW!

Smile by Raina Telgemeier, NEW!

Drama by Raina Telgemeier, NEW!

Year One by Ramsey Beyer, NEW!

Marble Season by Gilbert Hernandez, NEW!

Superman Doomsday by Louise Simonson, 21 years

Once Every Never by Lesley Livingston, NEW!

Every Never After by Lesley Livingston, NEW!

It’s Superman by Tom De Haven, 5 years

Superman Whatever Happened To The Man Of Tomorrow by Alan Moore and Curt Swan ***

Superman The Wedding Album by Various ***

The Joy of Writing by Pierre Berton, 5 years

Are you there God?  It’s me Margaret by Judy Blume *

Your Are My Only Sunshine by yourlilRIOT7 **

Superman Archives Volume 1 by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, 5 years

Superman Archives Volume 2 by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, 5 years

Superman The Dailies 1939-1942 by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, 3 years

Superman The Sunday Classics 1939-1943 by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, 3 years

Our Town by Thornton Wilder, NEW! (Rebeccahh95 readalong)

In Other Worlds by Margaret Atwood, 1 year

True Patriot by various, NEW!

Brave and the Bold: Lords of Luck by Mark Waid and George Perez, NEW!

Brave and the Bold: Books of Destiny by Mark Waid, George Perez and Jerry Ordway, NEW!

Enemies and Allies by Kevin J Anderson, 3 years

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll, 5 years

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith, aka J.K. Rowling, NEW!

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson, 7 years

Blubber by Judy Blume *

The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks *

Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks *

The Death and Life of Superman by Roger Stern, 21 years

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, NEW! (Rebeccahh95 readalong)

* denotes library  book

** denotes online read

*** denotes reread

When I last listed this list (whew!), I had discussed who my fav new author was.  Chabon was high up there, and John Green snuck in late in the year, but the real, undisputed winner is the immortal Judy Blume.  Love love love her most excellent books.

What will 2014 bring for favourites?  Only time will tell…

Scoopriches

…is currently reading by Fables volume 1 and 2 by Bill Willingham.

About scoopsmentalpropaganda

Married to beautiful wife. Always learning a ton of stuff. Geek with too much useless knowledge. fb page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Scoops-Mental-Propaganda/192314550819647 twitter & twitpic: Scoopriches AboutMe Page: http://about.me/paulriches This site is an @Scoopriches production
This entry was posted in Books, Me! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

