Three Random Thoughts On Giller 2014

Giller Logo

Monday night brought about my fourth time at the Toronto Giller Light party, all to celebrate the annual book awards with Canadian authors taking center stage!

 

The Girl Who Was Saturday Night

What I Hoped Would Win. I Was Wrong.

The Books!

The winner of the Giller this year was Sean Michaels for his debut novel Us Conductors. And congrats to him! Now I had never read any of the nominees this year, which is the usual for me unfortunately.

My completely uneducated guess was for Heather O’Neill who wrote The Girl Who Was Saturday Night. My affection for O’Neill’s work, and hope to someday read her tales, is due to a short story of hers being read once on This American Life. Made me a convert.

 

Scoop Olga

Me and Olga. I Take Bad Selfies.

The People!!

Shortly after I arrived, book agent and lovely person @Filina_Olga made her entrance. I have always had a great time chatting with Olga about the book industry, about recent awards show she has been to, and about life in general. Always great talking to Olga.

Also, the wonderful twitter told me book blogger @Christasbooks was also in attendance, but unfortunately I missed seeing her. A great Harry Potter convo, and Doctor Who talk, will have to happen another day with us.

 

Prizes 2

Raffle Table.

The Swag!!!

One booth had temporary tattoos, all with literary themes. I picked The Wizard Of Oz one, but due to my mutant skin condition that allows me to stick to walls and climb them, the tattoo never quite clung. Repeated attempts were made by a dedicated Giller Light volunteer, but to no avail. The other cool swag of the night was the grab bags. Mine had a copy of the Walrus and Geist magazines, a bottle of coconut water, and a kobo baseball cap, amoung other things. And Googliebear has already snatched the coconut water for herself.  Also, the raffle table was most excellent again this year!

 

Can’t wait for next year’s Giller Light, with all the fun and merriment and fun it shall bring!!

 

Scoopriches

…is currently reading Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissinger

 

 

About scoopsmentalpropaganda

Married to beautiful wife. Always learning a ton of stuff. Geek with too much useless knowledge. fb page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Scoops-Mental-Propaganda/192314550819647 twitter & twitpic: Scoopriches AboutMe Page: http://about.me/paulriches This site is an @Scoopriches production
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

